top of page

BBM part 2- Budget Bathroom Makeover

Well..better late than never. Here is the second and final installment of the budget bathroom makeover. I STILL need to figure trim, so any suggestions are welcome. I'm thinking quarter round...or the plastic stuff they use at offices...

Anywho. On to the floor.

Walls, check, bathroom door painted, check. Floor removed, check.

I knew I wanted "hardwood" and that the laminate stuff was good for bathrooms because of the moisture. I had grabbed a bunch of samples from Home Depot and had them strewn about, but nothing matched with the wood we had in the rest of the house, color wise at least. After playing around online, I managed to find a pretty close match at Lumber Liquidators. I ordered one box online for like $40 and picked it up later that day.

Putting down a floor like this in such a small space with so many corners and cut outs was definitely a challenge, and I ruined my fair share of "boards" trying to get cuts right. Not the best situation for my first install of this type of florring. But all in all it worked out. The laminate was pretty easy to cut and work with, and I think my biggest issue in this was a few boards didn't sit flush (I STILL need to fix this) to eachother so there is a teeny tiny miniscule gap that I plan on filling in with some clear caulking just so the floor underneath doesn't get any moisture. Luckily it's at the door and not near the sink or shower so it should be okay. Speaking of shower, after seeing the damage done to the floor from it not being sealed correctly, I went caulking crazy and made sure there was no way water was going to seep into the floor from kids jumping in and out of the shower. I also caulked around the toiled and the sink.

Once the floor was done it was time to decorate!!

I bought a new towel rack, and some shelves from IKEA. I also put up a new light above the mirror, which I took the opporunity to re-center since when it was done the first time we were a little off.

Some new towels, and changing up some artwork and we now have a pretty fun looking kids bathroom. Even if I don't have trim for the floor yet...


Featured Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • RSS Clean
Follow Me
  • Wix Facebook page
  • Instagram App Icon
  • Pinterest App Icon
bottom of page